45 FSS Wins Fifth Major General Eugene L. Eubank Award

  • Published
  • By Airman Collin Wesson
  • Space Launch Delta 45 Public Affairs

PATRICK SPACE FORCE BASE, Fla. – Last month, the 45th Force Support Squadron (FSS) was announced the winner of the 2022 Major General Eugene L. Eubank award for best small FSS across the Department of the Air Force (DAF). 

The award is presented to support squadrons that demonstrate outstanding professionalism, commitment to world class customer service, and an ability to innovate and perform beyond typical expectations.

“Winning the Eubank award is a tremendous accomplishment,” said U.S. Air Force Lt. Col. Brett Kuhrt, 45th FSS commander. “Receiving five of these awards, dating back to the first in 2015, speaks to the consistent quality of service that this organization provides to Space Launch Delta 45 and the surrounding areas.”

The 45th FSS’s intense accountability for their work sets them apart from the other 37 small FSS units within the DAF.

“This unit is full of highly experienced and highly qualified individuals who know their craft,” said Kuhrt. “It’s the ownership they exude over their flights, activities, and sections that sets them apart.”

The team is known for taking calculated risks, being proactive, and not making any excuses.

“We had a historic year in 2022, with a litany of accomplishments never seen before,” said Kuhrt. “We tackled challenges head on with the utmost professionalism, came together as a team, and solidified a culture that was acclaimed by the Eubank Evaluation team -- that is what I am most proud of!”