Wing to hold Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Luncheon

  • Published
  • 45th Space Wing
Join the members of the 45th Space Wing African-American Heritage Committee and surrounding community by participating in a commemorative holiday luncheon honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The event will be Jan. 11, 2007, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at The Tides Main Ballroom, Patrick Air Force Base.

The guest speaker is Juanita Evangeline Moore, daughter of civil rights activist Harry T. Moore. Ms. Moore will discuss the life and legacy of her father and his impact on the civil rights movement.

Harry T. Moore organized the first chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) chapter in Brevard County. He was a catalyst to establishing other NAACP chapters throughout the state of Florida.

During the 1930s and 40s, Mr. Moore did ground breaking work in Florida by registering African-American voters, investigating lynchings, police brutality and fighting for equal education for blacks and whites.

Tragically, Mr. Moore's life came to an end when he and his wife Harriet were murdered by a bomb planted beneath their home on Christmas Day in 1951. Their home site is now home to the Harry T. and Harriette V. Moore Memorial Park and Cultural Center, located in Mims, Fla. Locally, the Brevard County Courthouse in Viera is named in honor of the Moores.

Tickets for the luncheon cost $11 for club members and $13 for non-members. The meal will be a choice of baked chicken or baked cod; please indicate the choice when purchasing tickets. Side dishes include tossed garden salad, macaroni and cheese, green beans with almonds, Johnny cake cornbread, dinner rolls, cake, water and sweet tea.

For information or tickets, please contact an appropriate contact, listed below by organization:
45 SW Maj. Tommy Gregory 494-7816
45 SW Senior Airman Lasasha Woods 494-7816
45 LCG Master Sgt. Shelton Haskins 684-3752
45 LCG Staff Sgt. Marsha Coppin 853-5624
45 LCG Capt. Liza Dillard 476-3074
45 MSS Staff Sgt. Rachel Kibler 494-2036
45 MSS Senior Airman Tiffany Ford 494-7031
45 MDG Capt. Tametria Whaley 494-8451
45 MDG Capt. Shelley Ray 494-8374
45 MSG Master Sgt. Frantz Loiseau 494-2793
45 CES Master Sgt. Joseph Walker 494-7642
45 SFS Mrs. Nelly Slaughter 494 6203
45 OG Senior Master Sgt. Reggie Bush 494-8614
AFTAC Ms. Gloria Jones 494-7684
DEOMI Mrs. Karen McCree 494-6976
DEOMI Capt. Ebony Weston 494-8199